The world’s largest photography competition, the Sony World Photography Awards, is celebrating its 10th year anniversary in partnership with World Photography Organisation. Entries are now open for the 2017 awards and photographers, amateur and professional, from all over the world are invited to submit their entries.

Photographers, both entrants and winners, enjoy the benefit of exposure via the World Photography Organisations website, blog and social media profiles while recognized photographers can receive inclusion in the photography exhibition in Somerset House, international exhibitions, the annual Sony World Photography Awards book and the potential to work with Sony and partners.

Award Categories and Submission Deadlines

The Sony World Photography Awards is broken up into 4 individual competitions.

Professional: 10 categories, judged on a body of work.
Submission Deadline: January 10th 2017 – 11:59pm GMT

Open: 10 categories, rewarding the best single images. Images entered into the Open competition are automatically entered into the National Awards based on nationality.
Submission Deadline: January 5th 2017 – 11:59pm GMT

Youth: Reserved for photographers between the ages of 12-19 years old, a single image responding to one brief.
Submission Deadline: January 5th 2017 – 11:59pm GMT

Student Focus: For those studying photography.
Submission Deadline: December 5th 2016 – 11:59pm GMT

And if exposure isn’t enough, there is also a total prize fund of $30,000 USD along with a range of the latest Sony digital imaging equipment, shared between winning photographers.

You can find out more at the official Sony World Photography Awards Website.

There are currently no comments.